

Prof Subhransu Ranjan Samantaray, a Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering India (FNAE), received B. Tech from UCE Burla, PhD from NIT Rourkela and Post-Doctoral Studies from McGill University, Canada. He holds the position of Head of the School of School of Electrical and Computer Sciences and OPTCL Chair Professor at Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar, India. He has visited McGill University, Canada and AALTO University, Finland as Visiting Professor. He has more than 26 years of experience including Industry and Academia.

His major research interests include Power System Protection, PMU and WAMs and Smartgrid. With 1 patent, 150 peer reviewed international journals and 85 conference proceedings, his research appeared in top power engineering journals such as IEEE Transactions, IET Proceedings and Elsevier etc. The research outcomes have been cited more than 9088 with h-index of 51.

Received several national and international recognitions of high repute including Top 2 % scientist by Stanford University, SERB STAR Award-2021, Director's Commendation for Outstanding Research-2021, IEEE PES Chapter Outstanding Engineer Award-2020, NASI-SCOPUS Young Scientists Awards-2015, IEEE PES Technical Committee Prize Paper Award-2012, USA, Samanta Chandra Sekhar Award-2010 and Young Scientists, Odisha Bigyana Acadmey-2007, INAE innovative Doctoral thesis award-2008, Institutes of Engineers (IEI) Young Engineer Award-2009 etc.

He is the past Associate Editor of IEEE Systems Journal, Editor of IEEE Transactions on Smart Grid, IEEE Transactions on Power Delivery, Associate, IET, Generation, Transmission & Distribution and Guest Editor, IEEE Sensor Journal. He serves as a member of IEEE Task Force on Big Data Analytics for Synchro-Waveform Measurements and IEEE Power Systems Stability Sub-Committee.

He is Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering (FNAE), Institution of Engineering and Technology (FIET), UK and Senior Member, IEEE.

He is the Founder secretary, Past Chair of IEEE Bhubaneswar Subsection and Founder Chair of IEEE Bhubaneswar Section.